You are here

2015 Marshall Foundation Dissertation Fellowship Awardees

Submitted on December 16, 2014

The Graduate College is pleased to announce that six graduate students will be receiving the prestigious Marshall Foundation Dissertation Fellowship for final-phase dissertation support. In addition to a stipend from the Louise F. Marshall Foundation, each student will receive a tuition scholarship for two semesters from the UA Graduate College.

This year’s recipients are:

Kari Chew – Teaching, Learning & Sociocultural Studies
Dissertation Title: Chikashshanompa' Kilanompohóli Bíyyi'ka'chi [We Will Speak the Chickasaw Language]

Melanie Colavito – Geography and Development
Dissertation Title: The Role of Collaboration in Science-Based Decision-Making

Sara Hall – Chemistry & Biochemistry
Dissertation Title: Bradykinin ligands and receptors involved in neuropathic pain

Lily House-PetersGeography and Development
Dissertation Title: Desert Forests and Riparian Flows: Tracing Social-Ecological Transformations in the Transboundary San Pedro River

Christine NelsonHigher Education – Educational Policy Studies and Practice
Dissertation Title: American Indian College Students as Native Nation Builders: Tribal Financial Aid as a Lens for Understanding the Paradox of College-Going Messages

Sara ParkerCellular & Molecular Medicine
Dissertation Title: Crossed Wires: PKMzeta antagonizes the Par complex to regulate neuronal morphological polarity

All these outstanding students are Ph.D. Candidates and Arizona residents. Please join us in congratulating them for their accomplishments and for receiving this prestigious award.