You are here

2014 Marshall Foundation Awardees

Submitted on December 11, 2013

The Graduate College is pleased to announce that seven graduate students will be receiving the prestigious Marshall Foundation Dissertation Fellowship for final-phase dissertation support. In addition to a $10,788 stipend beginning in Spring 2014 from the Louise F. Marshall Foundation, each student will receive a tuition scholarship for two semesters from the UA Graduate College.

This year's recipients are:

Elsa Baena, Psychology.  Dissertation Title: Functional Compensation in Response to Increasing Task Difficulty: Comparing Semantic and Episodic Memory Tasks in Young and Older Adults

Blake Coughenour, Optical Sciences. Dissertation Title: Photovoltaic Concentrator Optical System Design - Solar Energy Engineering from Physics to Field

Randall W. Haas, Anthropology. Dissertation Title: Human Population Aggregation and Urbanization: Archaeological Insights toward Cross-Cultural Models

Keisha Josephs, Linguistics. Dissertation Title: A Descriptive Grammar of Kalingo

Aresta La Russo, American Indian Studies. Dissertation Title: Second Generation Navajo Relocatees Inheriting Intergenerational Losses Due to P.L. 93-531

Alison Macalady, Geography & Development. Dissertation Title: Assessing the potential responses of semi-arid woodlands to climatic variability and change through historical analyses

Rebecca McQuade, Microbiology. SACBS Dissertation Title: Interactions of Clostridium difficile with host innate immune molecules

All these outstanding students are Ph.D. Candidates, Arizona residents, have a cumulative GPA above 3.5, and are on the final year of their dissertation. Please join us in congratulating them for their accomplishments and for receiving this prestigious award.